Sunday, Dec 17th

Last update:07:39:10 PM GMT

You are here: International 2017 Maso Cup draw made

2017 Maso Cup draw made

E-mail Print PDF

The draw resultsThe draw resultsThe draw for the new edition of the most popular Australian-Macedonian football cup will see Preston Lions taking on defending champions Rockdale City Suns as both were drawn in the same group.

Interesting draw was made in the far away Australia as the clubs with Macedonian background are getting closer the the annual Maso Cup. Twelve teams will participate in this edition, which is by two less than last year. There will be 3 groups will 4 teams each. The top two teams of each group along with the two best ranked 3rd placed teams will advance into the quarter-finals.

Here are the groups:

Group A

Group B

Group C
Rockdale City Suns
Bankstown City
Altona Magic
Preston Lions
Wollongong United
Broadmeadow Magic
Yagoona Lions
Sydenham Park
Cringila Lions
Newcastle Suns
Arncliffe Scots
Queanbeyan City

Traditionaly the tournament kicks-off on Friday and that will be the case with the 2017 edition as well. On the 27th of January the Maso Cup will begin with two matches taking place simultaneously at the Ilinden Sports Centre and the Jensen Park. The tournament will be co-hosted by holders Rockdale City Suns and Bankstown City. Bankstown will host the majority of the group stage fixtures at Jensen Park on Saturday, while Rockdale will host the finals at the Ilinden Sports Centre on Sunday.

Hall of fame:
2015 Rockdale City Suns
2014 Altona Magic
2013 Rockdale City Suns
2012 Bankstown City
2011 Rockdale City Suns
2009 Arncliffe Scots
2008 Altona Magic

We will add the schedule as soon as it becomes available.

In the veteran's tournament (for players over 35 years old) there will be 7 clubs participating, all in a single group: Rockdale City Suns, Bankstown City, Yagoona Lions, Arncliffe Scots, Newcastle Suns and debutants Lalor United Sloga and Sunshine Lions. The top 4 ranked teams will progress to the semifinal on Sunday.

For the first time there will be a youth competition as Rockdale City Suns, Bankstown City, Yagoona Lions and Wollongong United have all confirmed a U19 teams. The 4 teams will play a round-robin tournament with the top two advancing to a final match that will be played on Sunday. The organizators hope that the number of teams in this category will grow in the future.

There won't be a women's tournament.


blog comments powered by Disqus